Election Results

On Wednesday, November 24th 2010, The CBTU held its elections and here are the results:

President: Janice Gairey (OFL)

1st Vice President: Andrea McCormack (OPSSU)

2nd Vice President: Holmann Richard (PSAC)

Recording Secretary: Maureen King (COPE 343)

Financial Secretary: Marcia Lopez (USW)

Membership Secretary: Marie Clark Walker (CLC)

Communications Secretary: Isabelle Miller (TWU)

Member at Large: Sharon Paris (CUPW)

Member at Large: John Odell (CEP)

Trustee: Edwina Bascombe-Buhnai (SEIU)

Trustee: Yolanda McClean (CUPE)

Congratulations to all!

CBTU Board (Isabelle Miller and John Odell missing)

John Odell

Isabelle Miller

President Janice Gairey (OFL)

Ist Vice President Andrea McCormack (OPSSU)

2nd Vice President Holmann Richard (PSAC)

Recording Secretary Maureen King (COPE 343)

Financial Secretary Marcia Lopez (USW)

Membership Secretary Marie Clark Walker (CLC)

Communications Secretary Isabelle Miller (TWU)

Member at Large Sharon Paris (CUPW)

Member at Large John Odell (CEP)

Trustee Edwina Bascombe-Buhnai


Trustee Yolanda McClean (CUPE)

Latest posts



May 1st, 2024 


Greetings CBTU Members: 

The Executive Board would like to have a meeting to prepare for the busy months ahead. There is so much happening quickly and it's important that we can get information to you. Please ensure you are signed up to the current Whatsapp chat. 

Please continue to follow the WhatsApp CBTU Ontario chat :


African Refugee Support


Dear CBTU Family and CBTU friends,

Enclosed are the details for the next Shared Closet event in support of the African Refugees in Canada.

The event will take place at the OPSEU Union Hall, located at 31 Wellesley Ave, Toronto, on the dates and times shown on the bulletin. Please join CBTU as we come together to assist those within our community who need our support the most. We are asking CBTU members, their families, and supporters for donations of time, finances, gently used clothing, toiletries, and more.

Please join CBTU and our alli Shared Closet as we actively work to improve living and working conditions within the Black community. 

Please share in your networks

In solidarity

CBTU - Canada

Thank you,



The McClean family and Coalition of Black Trade Unionists would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your generosity in funding the CBTU Scholarship Fund. In memory of Sylvia McClean, a true god sent to everyone she met.

Take action